2022 團結晚宴

日期: 2022年五月六日星期五

時間:下午6:00 – 晚上9:30

位置: UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, 50 Warren Street, Lowell, MA 01852

門票:活動版頁面

臉書活動頁面

關於此活動

為了紀念亞裔美國人和太平洋島民月,馬薩諸塞州聯邦亞裔美國人和太平洋島民委員會(AAPIC)謹邀請您參加2022年5月6日星期五舉行的第14屆年度團結晚宴。年度團結晚宴旨在促進亞裔美國人和太平洋島民社區之間以及所有種族背景之間更深層次的關係。每年,來自馬薩諸塞州亞裔美國人和太平洋島民社區的300多名領導人和成員聚集在一起,慶祝和尊重社區的成就。

今年,我們將通過三個獎項類別來突出我們英聯邦個人和組織的非凡工作:包容性和多樣性領導力,終身成就和社區英雄。我們的2022年獲獎者是Carolyn Rubin博士的社區英雄獎,Yuri Kochiyama文化中心(UMass Amherst)的包容性和多樣性領導力獎,以及Michael Liu的終身成就獎。

按兩下以下投影片以獲取完整體驗:主程式幻燈片|照片幻燈片

AAPIC要感謝你!

#AAPIHeritageMonth带来什么方式!向我們的出席者和贊助商大聲疾呼!

“這是一個令人心動的時刻,終於再次親自參加我們的年度團結晚宴。來自英聯邦各個角落的AAPI領導人在場是如此強大,證明瞭我們是多麼團結。在慶祝AAPI傳統月的同時,我們希望繼續獲得我們應得的支援,尊重和認可。特別感謝我們的主辦城市洛厄爾,這是該國第一位柬埔寨市長Sokhary Chau的所在地,並感謝我們的主辦地點UMass Lowell's Inn & Conference Center的熱情好客。

– 專員Philjay Solar,Unity Dinner Chair

此活動由您帶來

$2500 – 援助之手贊助商

  • 多特豪斯健康 
  • 麻省大學阿默斯特分校

$1000 – 創建變更贊助者

  • 企業銀行
  • 馬薩諸塞州獨立學院和大學協會
  • 新英格蘭眼科視光學學院 
  • 羅伯特·麥卡倫
  • 朱棣 

$500 – 社區影響力贊助商

  • 亞洲婦女促進健康
  • 赫昂魯賓
  • 吳哥舞蹈團 
  • 麻省大學洛厄爾亞裔美國人中心
  • 亞裔美國人公民協會
  • 米德爾塞克斯社區學院
  • 柬埔寨互助協會
  • 亞太學生協會 – 麻省大學達特茅斯分校
  • 中國學生學者協會 – 麻省大學達特茅斯分校

$250 – 團結贊助商

  • 泰王國駐波士頓領事館
  • Cheng & Tsui

門票和贊助套餐

門票和桌子定價資訊:

  • 個人票
  • 桌子(10個座位)
  • **非營利/學生/公共服務票
  • **非營利桌(10個座位)
  • $100
  • $1000
  • $54

  • $500

** – [email protected] 聯繫 Jay Wong 以獲取折扣代碼。

如果您買不起票,想去,請聯繫Unity Dinner主席Philjay Solar, 位址為 [email protected]

贊助套餐:

  • 改變生活
  • 建設社區
  • 希望與靈感
  • 關愛的心
  • 援助之手
  • 創造變革
  • $15,000
  • $10,000
  • $7,500
  • $5,000
  • $2,500
  • $1,000

重要細節

食物

  • 如果您參加活動,請填寫食品表格:https://forms.gle/9SFXYY2PGMcGVwAPA
  • 出席者將獲得三道菜的餐點
    • 第一道菜:新鮮春季沙拉
    • 第二門課程:(選擇一門)
      • 薩姆拉爾卡里咖喱雞
      • 蔬菜比里亞尼
    • 第三道菜:芒果霜淇淋帶抹茶黑芝麻短麵包


現金吧

  • 酒吧只接受現金
  • 活動中將有兩個酒吧;一個在餐廳,一個在廚房
  • 酒店內設有自動取款機


著裝要求 

  • 半正式/商務休閒
  • 傳統服飾(高度鼓勵)

口罩和衛生

  • 強烈建議使用口罩,但不是強制性的
  • 整個活動期間將有衛生站

停車

  • 選項1:免費停車位有限,會議中心的停車場按先到先得的原則提供
  • 選項2:停車庫的一樓和二樓有額外的免費停車位(只有從沃倫街和喬治街的拐角處通過車道進入,才能進入門廊下的下車區)。
  • 沃倫街下鎖車庫的付費停車位的收費標準如下。
    • 長達 1 小時: $1.50
    • 長達 2 小時: $3.00
    • 長達 3 小時: $4.50
    • 長達 4 小時: $6.00
    • 長達 5 小時: $7.50

揚聲器

開幕致辭:埃裡卡·森津古

Erika於2021年4月被喬·拜登總統任命為總統副助理,擔任AA(亞裔美國人)和NHPI(夏威夷原住民和太平洋島民)高級聯絡人的副助理。在白宮,埃裡卡在總統的一系列優先事項上支援政府,並與AA和NHPI社區和領導人就重要問題進行接觸,例如通過全政府的方式促進亞裔美國人,夏威夷原住民和太平洋島民社區的安全,正義,包容和機會。

她過去的政府服務包括在奧巴馬政府朱利安·卡斯特羅(Julián Castro)的領導下擔任住房和城市發展部負責國會和政府間關係的助理部長,並且是消費者金融保護局有史以來第一位參議院副立法主任。

在國會山,她是伊利諾伊州參議員塔米·達克沃思(Tammy Duckworth)的高級代表。夏威夷參議員丹尼爾·K·阿卡卡(Daniel K. Akaka),以及內華達州參議院多數黨領袖哈裡·裡德(Harry Reid)領導的參議院民主黨政策委員會。

在非營利部門,Erika管理著兩個團隊,即全國婦女和家庭夥伴關係,以促進經濟正義和國會關係,通過性別平等和種族平等的視角推進勞動力和衛生政策。Erika還領導了領先的反仇恨組織反誹謗聯盟的政府關係,宣傳和社區參與團隊。

在YOUTUBE上觀看錄音

主講嘉賓:金蘇博士

Sue J. Kim博士是美術,人文與社會科學學院本科研究副院長;亞裔美國人研究中心聯合主任;馬薩諸塞大學洛厄爾分校英語教授。她是《論憤怒:種族、認知、敘事和批判當代種族話語中的後現代主義》一書的作者,也是《通過文學重新思考同理心》的聯合編輯。她曾在亞裔美國人研究協會董事會和國際敘事研究學會執行委員會任職,以及吳哥舞蹈團,洛厄爾電信媒體中心和洛厄爾東南亞潑水節的董事會成員。

在YOUTUBE上觀看錄音

獲獎者

社區英雄獎:梁晃魯賓、艾德、馬州梁嘉慶

Heang Leung Rubin博士是一位獨立顧問,她將她作為宣導者,作家,治療師,教師,召集人,母親,農民和研究人員的多重身份帶到她的社區參與工作中,以支援移民社區的健康,彈性和福祉。 她目前的兩個社區參與專案,RISE專案(彈性移民爭取公平)和唐人街希望(健康,機會,可能性和賦權),彙集了多個利益相關者,通過支援社區組織作為文化經紀人的作用來加強移民社區的健康。 作為包藝術中心和亞洲社區發展公司合作的住宅實驗室的社區故事講述者,她正在努力重新定義評估在社會變革中的作用。 她還是佛羅里達大學醫學藝術中心的兼職講師,致力於將藝術與公共衛生相結合。

她參與亞裔美國人社區已有二十多年。 最近,她擔任唐人街圖書館之友的董事會主席,該組織正在努力將一個永久性的分館帶回波士頓唐人街。 在成為獨立顧問之前,她曾在塔夫茨醫學中心和塔夫茨大學擔任公共衛生和社區醫學系助理教授,並擔任ADAPT主任(通過轉化研究解決亞洲人口的差距)。 在塔夫茨大學,她在提升社區參與研究的重要性以及在塔夫茨大學研究人員與唐人街社區合作夥伴之間建立更牢固的機構關係以合作進行社區驅動研究方面發揮了重要作用。 她領導的兩個社區驅動專案是一項關於包藝術中心對唐人街的社會凝聚力,文化認同和社區聯繫的影響的研究,以及亞洲CARES(解決研究,教育和服務中心),該研究著眼於影響整個亞洲社區問題賭博的系統性問題。 作為一名教師,她在波士頓唐人街教授了一個創新的實地課程,這有助於吸引附近的學生,她指導了許多學生進行社區參與和健康公平研究。

她擁有哈佛大學教育學博士學位、加州大學洛杉磯分校城市規劃文學碩士學位和加州大學聖地牙哥分校民族研究文學學士學位。 她在三藩市出生和長大。

包容性和多樣性領導力獎:

麻省大學阿默斯特分校的Yuri Kochiyama文化中心

尤里高知山文化中心(YKCC)起源於1989年,旨在支持馬薩諸塞大學阿默斯特分校不斷增長的亞裔和亞裔美國學生。 它最初被稱為聯合亞洲文化中心(UACC)。 1993年,在聯合亞洲學習資源中心(UALRC)的行政支援下重新開放,並在隨後的幾年中更名為Yuri Kochiyama文化中心,以紀念Yuri Kochiyama對解放和社會正義的信念。  

YKCC的使命是通過以下方式肯定亞裔和亞裔美國人太平洋島民學生的文化表達,自豪感和參與度:

  • 頌揚文化傳統的節目
  • 加深學生對自己和他人多方面身份的理解的計劃
  • 為學習和結識新朋友提供一個培育和歡迎的空間
  • 提供資源推薦以支持學生成功

終身成就獎:劉旭東

Michael Liu是土生土長的波士頓唐人街人。他成年後在波士頓地區一直積极參與社會正義和社區問題,特別是唐人街。他是許多社區社會正義團體的創始成員,包括波士頓華人進步協會,API運動和波士頓彩虹聯盟。在1990年代,他是亞裔美國人資源研討會的執行董事。他目前活躍於活動家培訓學院,與年輕的召集人合作。

他在馬薩諸塞大學波士頓分校獲得公共政策博士學位,並在UMB亞裔美國人研究所擔任研究員二十年,撰寫和合著了許多關於當地亞裔美國人社區的研究,直到退休。他與人合著了一本關於亞裔美國人組織的解釋性歷史 《亞裔美國人行動主義的蛇舞》(The Snake Dance of Asian American Activism),最近還撰寫了波士頓唐人街第一本長篇歷史《 永遠的鬥爭》(Forever Struggle)。

演員

因陀羅的藝術創作

Indra的藝術創作(IAC)使命是保護柬埔寨的傳統藝術和語言,同時為柬埔寨社區聯繫和創造機會,讓他們參與並重新聯繫他們的遺產。IAC專門研究不同類別的柬埔寨傳統藝術,如古典舞蹈,音樂,歌唱詩,語言和宗教,與美國和柬埔寨的合作教師合作。

在Kennis Yin-Mor的領導下,他是移民的兒子,他們茁壯成長以實現美國夢。然而,肯尼斯茁壯成長,以恢復自己的夢想,在洛厄爾社區內實現他在洛厄爾社區內的文化保護目標,與他自己的舞蹈團體IAC。

芭蕾舞表演

Maria-Isabela Campos是塞勒姆高中的一名大四學生,希望在即將到來的秋季在UMASS波士頓學習生物學,後來進入醫學院成為一名皮膚科醫生。她出生於菲律賓,擁有菲律賓血統,並自豪地成為馬薩諸塞州亞裔美國人和太平洋島民委員會第一個青年理事會的一員。她在波士頓芭蕾舞學校學習芭蕾舞超過5年,以瞭解一種美麗的歷史藝術形式,利用身體運動來傳達資訊。她在波士頓歌劇院演出了《胡桃夾子》西爾菲德科佩利亞》中令人震驚的專業人士

音樂娛樂

Madlove,LLC是一家位於新英格蘭的女性擁有的高棉美國活動和娛樂服務公司。Melinda Long和Madelene Ba由兩人團隊組成,提供DJ,MC,攝影,攝像和上射租賃服務。他們的任務:Mixing Authenticity與D鉸鏈Love,O筆心和V元,E昇華。

訪問他們的網站:www.madlove.us 或在社交媒體上 @madlovellc 關注他們。

司儀

專員梅加·普拉薩德

梅加普拉薩德是東北大學的一名本科生,主修政治學和商業。作為第一代印度裔美國人,梅加 在成長過程中經歷了許多圍繞少數民族家庭經常面臨的身份認同和適應的鬥爭。通過她的教育,她熟悉了批判性的種族文學和公共政策,其中的交叉點促使她參與選舉政治。隨著Megha通過為參議員Ed Markey工作而獲得競選經驗,她也敏銳地意識到影響英聯邦AAPI社區的問題,並期待找到推動州議會立法的方法。首先,她尋求減少投票障礙,並使英語學習者更容易獲得其他公共服務。

專員賢霖

Sam是AAPI委員會的前任主席,目前擔任Sonia Chang-Díaz州長競選活動的政治總監。他在布蘭迪斯大學海勒學院獲得了公共政策碩士學位和工商管理碩士學位。山姆在政治,非營利組織和宣導方面工作了十年。他還因對AAPI社區的倡導而成為2021年波士頓環球報年度波士頓人獎的獲獎者之一。

2022 Unity Dinner

Date: Friday, May 6, 2022

Time: 6:00 PM – 9:30 PM

Location: UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, 50 Warren Street, Lowell, MA 01852

Tickets: Eventbrite Page

Facebook Event Page

About this event

In honor of Asian American and Pacific Islanders Month, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Asian American and Pacific Islanders Commission (AAPIC) would like to invite you to our 14th Annual Unity Dinner on Friday, May 6, 2022. The Annual Unity Dinner serves to promote deeper relationships among Asian American & Pacific Islander communities and between all ethnic backgrounds. Each year over 300 leaders and members from the Asian American and Pacific Islanders community across Massachusetts gather to celebrate and honor the community’s achievements.

This year we will highlight the extraordinary work of individuals and organizations in our Commonwealth through three award categories: Leadership for Inclusion & Diversity, Lifetime Achievement, and Community Hero. Our 2022 awardees are Dr. Carolyn Rubin for our Community Hero Award, Yuri Kochiyama Cultural Center (UMass Amherst) for the Leadership for Inclusion & Diversity Award, and Michael Liu for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Click on the following slideshows for the full experience: MAIN PROGRAM SLIDESHOW | PHOTO SLIDESHOW

AAPIC would like to thank you!

What a way to bring in #AAPIHeritageMonth! A big shoutout to our attendees and sponsors!

“It was such a heartwarming moment to finally have our Annual Unity Dinner again and in-person. Being in the presence of our AAPI leaders from all corners of the Commonwealth was so powerful and a testament to just how unified we are. While celebrating AAPI Heritage Month is start, we hope to continue getting the support, respect and recognition we deserve all months of the year. Special thank you to our host city, Lowell, home to the country’s first Cambodian Mayor, Sokhary Chau, and thank to our host venue, UMass Lowell’s Inn & Conference Center for the wonderful hospitality.”

– Commissioner Philjay Solar, Unity Dinner Chair

This event was brought to you by

$2500 – Helping Hands Sponsor

  • DotHouse Health 
  • UMass Amherst

$1000 – Creating Change Sponsor

  • Enterprise Bank
  • Association of Independent Colleges & Universities in Massachusetts
  • New England College of Optometry 
  • Robert McCarron
  • Gary Chu 

$500 – Community Impact Sponsor

  • Asian Women for Health
  • Heang Rubin
  • Angkor Dance Troupe 
  • UMass Lowell Center for Asian American Center
  • Asian American Civic Association
  • Middlesex Community College
  • Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association
  • Asian Pacific Student Association – UMass Dartmouth
  • Chinese Student Scholar Association – UMass Dartmouth

$250 – Unity Sponsor

  • The Royal Thai Consulate of Boston
  • Cheng & Tsui

Tickets & Sponsorship Packages

Ticket & Table Pricing Information:

  • Individual Ticket
  • Table (10 seats)
  • **Non-profit / Student / Public Service Ticket
  • **Non-profit Table (10 seats)
  • $100
  • $1000
  • $55

  • $500

** – Please contact Jay Wong at [email protected] for the discount code.

If you cannot afford a ticket and would like to go, please contact Unity Dinner Chairperson, Philjay Solar at [email protected].

Sponsorship Packages:

  • CHANGING LIVES
  • BUILDING COMMUNITY
  • HOPE & INSPIRATION
  • CARING HEARTS
  • HELPING HANDS
  • CREATING CHANGE
  • $15,000
  • $10,000
  • $7,500
  • $5,000
  • $2,500
  • $1,000

Important Details

Food

  • If you are attending the event, please fill out the Food Form: https://forms.gle/9SFXYY2PGMcGVwAPA
  • Attendees will be served a three course meal
    • First Course: Fresh Spring Salad
    • Second Course: (SELECT ONE)
      • Samlar Kari-Curry Chicken
      • Vegetable Biryani
    • Third Course: Mango Gelato w/ Matcha Black Sesame Short Bread


Cash Bar

  • Bars will be accepting cash only
  • There will be two bars at the event; one in the dining room and one in the foley
  • An ATM will be on-site


Dress Code 

  • Semi-formal / Business casual
  • Traditional dress (highly encouraged)

Masks & Sanitation

  • Masks are highly recommended, but not mandatory
  • There will be sanitation stations throughout the event

Parking

  • Option 1: Free parking is limited and available for the conference center’s parking lot at a first-come, first-serve basis
  • Option 2: There is additional free parking on the first and second floor of the parking garage (ONLY entering through the driveway from the corner of Warren Street and George Street proceed to the drop off area under the porte-cochere).
  • Rates are as follows for paid parking in the Lower Locks Garage on Warren St.
    • Up to 1 Hour: $1.50
    • Up to 2 Hours: $3.00
    • Up to 3 Hours: $4.50
    • Up to 4 Hours: $6.00
    • Up to 5 Hours: $7.50

Speakers

Opening Remarks: Erika L. Moritsugu

Erika was appointed by President Joe Biden in April 2021 to serve as Deputy Assistant to the President and AA (Asian American) and NHPI (Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander) Senior Liaison. At the White House, Erika supports the Administration on a wide array of the President’s priorities and engages with AA and NHPI communities and leaders on important issues such as advancing safety, justice, inclusion, and opportunity for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities through a whole-of-government approach to racial justice.

Her past government service includes serving as the Assistant Secretary for Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations at the Department of Housing and Urban Development under the leadership of Secretary Julián Castro in the Obama Administration and was the first-ever Senate Deputy Legislative Director at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

On Capitol Hill, she was a senior representative of Senator Tammy Duckworth of Illinois. Senator Daniel K. Akaka of Hawai’i, and at the Senate Democratic Policy Committee under Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada.

In the non-profit sector, Erika managed two teams the National Partnership for Women & Families for economic justice and congressional relations advancing workforce and health policies focused through a gender equity and race equity lens. Erika has also led the Government Relations, Advocacy and Community Engagement team at the Anti-Defamation League, a leading anti-hate organization.

WATCH THE RECORDING ON YOUTUBE

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Sue Kim

Sue J. Kim, Ph.D., is Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Fine Arts, Humanities, & Social Science; Co-Director of the Center for Asian American Studies; and Professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Lowell. She is author of  On Anger: Race, Cognition, Narrative, and Critiquing Postmodernism in Contemporary Discourses of Race and co-editor of Rethinking Empathy Through Literature. She has served on the Association for Asian American Studies Board of Directors and the Executive Committee of the International Society for the Study of Narrative, as well as on the Board of Directors for Angkor Dance Troupe, Lowell TeleMedia Center, and the Lowell Southeast Asian Water Festival.

WATCH THE RECORDING ON YOUTUBE

Award Recipients

Community Hero Award: Heang Leung Rubin, EdD, MA  梁嘉慶

Dr. Heang Leung Rubin is an independent consultant who brings her multiple identities as advocate, writer, healer, teacher, organizer, mother, farmer, and researcher to her community engagement work that supports the health, resilience, and well-being of immigrant communities.  Two of her current community engagement projects, Project RISE (Resilient Immigrants Striving for Equity) and Chinatown HOPE (Health, Opportunities, Possibilities, and Empowerment), bring together multiple stakeholders to strengthen the health of immigrant communities by supporting the role of community-based organizations as cultural brokers.  As the Community Storyteller for Residence Lab, a collaboration between Pao Arts Center and the Asian Community Development Corporation, she is working to redefine the role of evaluation in social change efforts.  She is also an adjunct lecturer in the Center for Arts in Medicine at the University of Florida working to integrate arts and public health.

She has been involved in the Asian American community for over twenty years.  Most recently, she served as the Board Chair for the Friends of the Chinatown Library, a group that is working to bring a permanent branch library back to Boston Chinatown.  Prior to becoming an independent consultant, she worked for Tufts Medical Center and Tufts University as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Public Health and Community Medicine and as the Director of ADAPT (Addressing disparities in Asian populations through translational research.)  At Tufts, she was instrumental in elevating the importance of community engaged research and building stronger institutional relationships between Tufts researchers and Chinatown community partners to collaborate on community-driven research.  Two community-driven projects she led were a study on the impact of Pao Arts Center on the social cohesion, cultural identity, and community connectedness of Chinatown and Asian CARES (Center for Addressing Research, Education, and Services) which looks at systemic issues impacting problem gambling across the broader Asian community.  As a teacher, she taught an innovative field class on Boston Chinatown which helped to engage students in the neighborhood and she mentored many students on community engagement and health equity research.

She holds a Doctorate in Education from Harvard University, a Masters of Arts in Urban Planning from the University of California, Los Angeles, and a Bachelor of Arts in Ethnic Studies from the University of California, San Diego.  She was born and raised in San Francisco.

Leadership for Inclusion & Diversity Award:

Yuri Kochiyama Cultural Center at UMass Amherst

The Yuri Kochiyama Cultural Center (YKCC) originated in 1989 to support the growing population of Asian and Asian American students at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.  It was first known as the United Asia Cultural Center (UACC).  In 1993 it reopened with administrative support from the United Asia Learning Resource Center (UALRC) and in succeeding years was renamed the Yuri Kochiyama Cultural Center in honor of Yuri Kochiyama for her belief in liberation and social justice.  

The mission of YKCC is to affirm the cultural expression, pride and engagement of Asian and Asian American Pacific Islander students through:

  • Programs that celebrate cultural traditions
  • Programs that deepen students’ understanding of their own and others’ multifaceted identities
  • Providing a nurturing and welcoming space for studying and meeting new people
  • Provide resource referral to support student success

Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Liu

Michael Liu is a native of Boston Chinatown. He has been active on social justice and community issues throughout his adult life in the Boston area, especially concerning Chinatown. He was a founding member of numerous community social justice groups including the Chinese Progressive Association Boston, API Movement, and the Boston Rainbow Coalition. In the 1990’s, he was executive director of the Asian American Resource Workshop. He is currently active with the Activist Training Institute, working with young organizers.

He received his Ph.D. in Public Policy at University of Massachusetts Boston and worked as a researcher for two decades at the Institute for Asian American Studies at UMB, authoring and co-authoring many studies on local Asian American communities until his retirement. He co-authored an interpretive history of Asian American organizing, The Snake Dance of Asian American Activism, and recently authored the first book-length history of Boston Chinatown, Forever Struggle.

Performers

Indra’s Artistic Creations

Indra’s Artistic Creations (IAC) mission is to preserve Cambodian traditional arts and languages while also connecting and building opportunities for the Cambodian community to engage and reconnect with their heritage. IAC specializes in different categories of Cambodian traditional art, such as classical dance, music, singing-poetry, language, and religion, with partnering teachers in the U.S. and in Cambodia.

Led by Kennis Yin-Mor, he is the son of immigrants who thrive to achieve the American dream. However, Kennis thrives to retrieve his own dream in achieving his goals in Cambodian cultural preservation within the community of Lowell with his own dance group IAC.

Ballet Performance

Maria-Isabela Campos is a senior at Salem High School, hoping to study biology at UMASS Boston in this upcoming fall and later attend medical school to become a dermatologist. Born in the Philippines, she embraces her Filipino heritage and is proud to be part of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Asian American & Pacific Islander Commission’s first Youth Council. She studied ballet at Boston Ballet School for more than 5 years to learn about a beautiful, historic art form that utilizes body movement to convey a message. She performed in the Boston Opera House among astounding professionals in The Nutcracker, La Sylphide, and Coppelia.

Musical Entertainment

Madlove, LLC is a women-owned Khmer American event and entertainment service based in New England. Composed of a two person team, Melinda Long and Madelene Ba provide DJ, MC, photography, videography, and uplighting rental services. Their mission: Mixing Authenticity with Dreams of Love, and Open mind and Visions that Elevates.

Visit their website at: www.madlove.us or follow them @madlovellc on social media.

Masters of Ceremony

Commissioner Megha Prasad

Megha Prasad is an undergraduate student at Northeastern University studying Political Science and Business. As a first-generation Indian American, Megha grew up experiencing many of the struggles surrounding identity and adaptation that minority families often face. Through her education, she gained familiarity with critical race literature and public policy, the intersection of which prompted her to become involved in electoral politics. As Megha gained campaign experience through working for Senator Ed Markey, she also became acutely aware of the issues impacting AAPI communities in the Commonwealth and looks forward to finding ways to push for legislation in the State House. Primarily, she seeks to reduce barriers to voting and make other public services more accessible to English-language learners.

Commissioner Samuel Hyun

Sam is the former Chairperson of the AAPI Commission and currently serves as Political Director for Sonia Chang-Díaz’s gubernatorial campaign. He earned his Masters of Public Policy and Masters of Business Administration from Brandeis University’s Heller School. Sam has spent ten years working in politics, non-profits, and advocacy. He was also honored as one of the Boston Globe’s awardees for Bostonian of the Year in 2021 for his advocacy for the AAPI Community.