

COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Pralhad KC

Vice Chairperson Mary K.Y. Lee

Treasurer Chung Liu

Secretary Anil Saigal

Jonjy Ananth Meenakshi Bharath

Vira Douangmany Cage Bora Chiemruom

Mary Chin

Gilbert Ho* Vanna Howard* Nate Bae Kupel Mabel Lam

Wingkay Leung

Nina Liang Dimple Rana* Philjay Solar Ying Wang

Executive Director Jenny Chiang

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 www.aacommission.org

Meeting Minutes

Emergency Meeting, Wed, September 30, 2019 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm HI Boston Hostel, 19 Stuart St, Boston, MA 02116, USA

Absent Commissioners are highlighted and remote participants are indicated by an asterisk*. Quorum was reached by attendance.

Conduct executive session pursuant to Open Meeting Law (Chapter 30A Section 21 (a)(1): To discuss the reputation, character, physical condition or mental health, rather than professional competence, of an individual, or to discuss the discipline or dismissal of, or complaints or charges brought against, a public officer, employee, staff member or individual specifically current officers on the Executive Committee.

Call of attendance:

Present in person (6): Vira Douangmany Cage, Bora Chiemruom, Nate Bae Kupel, Philjay Solar, Nina Liang, Mabel Lam

Present in person staff: Jessica Wong (Administrative Coordinator)

Present remotely (3): Vanna Howard, Gilbert Ho, Dimple Rana

Absent (9): Jonjy Anath, Meenakshi Bharath, Mary Chin, Pralhad KC, Mary Lee, Wingkay Leung, Chung Liu, Anil Saigal, Ying Wing

Action 1 - Establish quorum

Nina calls to establish quorum. Quorum is established. In the absence of the Chair not being present, Vira will lead the meeting.

Bora motions to enter into executive session to discuss the reputation, character, physical condition or mental health, rather than professional competence, of an individual, or to discuss the discipline or dismissal of, or complaints or charges brought against, a public officer, employee, staff member or individual specifically current officers on the Executive Committee

Vira motions for roll call to vote in executive session.

Meeting enters into executive session. Admin Coordinator steps out of the room

8:31pm: Vira states we are officially in open session



COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Pralhad KC

Vice Chairperson Mary K.Y. Lee

Treasurer Chung Liu

Secretary Anil Saigal

Jonjy Ananth Meenakshi Bharath

Vira Douangmany Cage Bora Chiemruom

Mary Chin

Gilbert Ho* Vanna Howard* Nate Bae Kupel Mabel Lam

Wingkay Leung

Nina Liang Dimple Rana* Philjay Solar Ying Wang

Executive Director Jenny Chiang

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 www.aacommission.org **Action 2** - Affirm present AC shall not have to reapply for full-time position taken during July 20, 2019 meeting

Bora motions to affirm the present AC shall not have to reapply. Position is intact Philjay any debate. Gil needs someone doing day to day work while Jenny is gone. Vira states that entire commission was not made aware that there was a proposal to convert AC back to part-time status

Philjay moves to close debate. Nina seconds.

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes Bora Chiemruom - Yes Nate Bae Kupel - Yes Philjay Solar - Yes Nina Liang - Yes Mabel Lam - Yes Vanna Howard - Yes Gilbert Ho - Yes Dimple Rana - Yes

Motion passes.

Action 3 - Vote of no confidence on current Executive Committee

Nina motions to take a vote of no confidence on entire EC including the two that resigned.

Nina amends motion to add "ensure the work of the commission does not continue to be impeded" at the end of the motion

Gil mentions that the commission must keep running with good operations and it will benefit the entire commission to function appropriately. Bora moves to close debate. Mabel seconds

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes Bora Chiemruom - Yes Nate Bae Kupel - Yes Philjay Solar - Yes Nina Liang - Yes Mabel Lam - Yes Vanna Howard - Yes Gilbert Ho - Yes Dimple Rana - Yes



COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Pralhad KC

Vice Chairperson Mary K.Y. Lee

Treasurer Chung Liu

Secretary Anil Saigal

Jonjy Ananth Meenakshi Bharath

Vira Douangmany Cage Bora Chiemruom

Mary Chin

Gilbert Ho* Vanna Howard* Nate Bae Kupel Mabel Lam

Wingkay Leung Nina Liang

Dimple Rana*
Philjay Solar
Ying Wang

Executive Director Jenny Chiang

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 www.aacommission.org Action 3: Recall current Vice Chair and Secretary

Mabel motions to recall VC and Secretary to remove from their officer positions. Philjay seconds.

Vira opens for debate. No debate. Vira moves to call vote.

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes
Bora Chiemruom - Yes
Nate Bae Kupel - Yes
Philjay Solar - Yes
Nina Liang - Yes
Mabel Lam - Yes
Vanna Howard - Yes
Gilbert Ho - Yes
Dimple Rana - Yes

Action 4: Issue formal invitation to hold-over Commissioners

Bora motions to officially issue a formal invitation hold-over commissioners with legal recommendation from Sarah Kim that they may return to the duties as commissioners. Mabel seconds.

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes Bora Chiemruom - Yes Nate Bae Kupel - Yes Philjay Solar - Yes Nina Liang - Yes Mabel Lam - Yes Vanna Howard - Yes Dimple Rana - Yes

Gil abstains.

Action 5 - Elect temporary Executive committee

Nina motions to elect temporary Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer tonight until the next regularly election in December. Bora seconds.

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes Bora Chiemruom - Yes Nate Bae Kupel - Yes Philjay Solar - Yes



COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Pralhad KC

Vice Chairperson Mary K.Y. Lee

Treasurer Chung Liu

Secretary Anil Saigal

Jonjy Ananth Meenakshi Bharath

Vira Douangmany Cage Bora Chiemruom

Mary Chin Gilbert Ho*

Vanna Howard*

Nate Bae Kupel

Mabel Lam

Wingkay Leung

Nina Liang Dimple Rana* Philjay Solar Ying Wang

Executive Director Jenny Chiang

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 www.aacommission.org Nina Liang - Yes Mabel Lam - Yes Gilbert Ho - Yes Dimple Rana - Yes

Vote excludes Vanna. Call dropped.

Nate nominates Vira as Chair Gil nominates Mabel as Treasurer Bora nominates Philjay as Secretary

Nina - any discussions on slate. No debate

Vira Douangmany Cage - Yes
Bora Chiemruom - Yes
Nate Bae Kupel - Yes
Philjay Solar - Yes
Nina Liang - Yes
Mabel Lam - Yes
Vanna Howard - Yes
Gilbert Ho - Yes
Dimple Rana - Yes

Bora motions to adjourn. Nina seconds. Vira moves to close meeting. Motion passes unanimously