

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Asian American Commission

COMMISSIONERS

Chair Paul W. Lee

Vice Chair Geoffrey G. Why

Treasurer Karen Tseng

Secretary Kenneth An

Joel Buenaventura Yan Jennifer Cao Chun-Fai Chan Chris Chanyasulkit Kajal Chattopadhyay Kay Dong Kenneth Fong Om Ganda Grace Lee Vesna Nuon Priti Rao Paul D. Shaw Evelyn Tang Sophy Theam Larry Wong

Executive Director Jason Chou

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 T: 617-367-9333 x662 F: 617-367-7748 www.aacommission.org <u>Meeting Minutes</u> Tuesday, May 8th, 2012 Office of the State Treasurer

Absent Commissioners are highlighted on left.

1. Review of March minutes

- Yan Jennifer Cao motioned to accept March minutes, seconded by Kay Dong. Motion carried by a unanimous vote
- 2. 2012 Unity Dinner, Wednesday, May 16th
 - Keynote Honoree: Nitin Nohria, Dean of Harvard Business School Co-Chair: Vinit Nijhawan, Managing Director of BU's Technology Development Co-Chair: Om Ganda, Senior Physician at Joslin Diabetes Center Co-Chair: Francis Chin, Immigration Attorney
 - We are working to secure a 509(a)1 tax status.
- 3. Discussion on updating the bylaws to allow flexibility in reaching quorum. Discussion on OML allowing remote participation.
 - Karen Tseng motioned to adopt remote participation, second by Priti Rao. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.
 - We will have a short meeting at 5:30pm before the Unity Dinner to discuss bylaws amendments to lower the quorum requirement.

4. Initiatives

Resource Fair – Chinatown festival 6/24 and Lowell Water festival 8/18 Young Leader Symposium 9/21 Healthcare ideas for 2013?

- 5. New business Old Business
- 6. Next Commission meeting: Tuesday, June 12th One Ashburton Place, 21st Fl