### **COMMISSIONERS**

# Chairperson

Gary Chu

# Vice Chairperson

Richard Chu

## Secretary

Saatvik Ahluwalia

Nate Bae Kupel Meenakshi Bharath Mary Chin Cinda Danh Amy Goh **Christopher Huang** Leo L. Hwang Pralhad KC Danielle Kim Mary KY Lee Bethany Li Marilyn Park Megha Prasad Jennifer Rubin Ekta Saksena Philjay Solar

# **Executive Director**

Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 aapicommission.org

# **Meeting Minutes**

June 1, 2023, 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm

Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270

\*Please note that this meeting will be recorded

The meeting will be held via teleconference in compliance with the Governor's Executive Order on the Open Meeting Law and COVID-19.

#### **Attachments:**

- Draft meeting minutes: May 16, 2023
- Budgets
- 2023 Small Grants Table and Small Grants Folder

-----

**Commissioners Present**: Gary Chu, Meena Bharath, Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Cinda Danh, Christopher Huang, Nate Bae Kupel, Philjay Solar, Danielle Kim, Marilyn Park, Mary Chin (12)

**Staff Present**: Executive Director Yasmin Padamsee Forbes, Program & Research Director Esther Kim, Communications & Outreach Manager Jennifer Best, Policy Coordinator Benjamin Wang, Regional Coordinator Hannah Ku

#### 1. Call to Order

Chair Gary Chu calls the meeting to order at 6:34pm.

# 2. Commissioners Check-in

Commissioner Philjay Solar shared about the <u>Philippine Independence Day Festival</u> in Attleboro, MA on June 11th.

Nate announced his resignation from the AAPI Commission, effective this week.

#### 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

a. May 16, 2023 (VOTE)

**VOTE:** Commissioner Meena Bharath motions to approve the minutes. Commissioner Saatvik Ahluwalia seconds.

YES: Commissioners Nate Bae Kupel, Meena Bharath, Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Cinda danh, Christopher Huang, Philjay Solar, Danielle Kim, Marilyn Park, Mary Chin, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

- 4. Grants subcommittee: 15 mins
  - a. Subcommittee decision
    (The grants subcommittee met and offered recommendations in the linked note)
  - b. <u>Small grants allocation</u> (VOTE)
     (Commission can vote for the entire slate of grants)

Commissioner Saatvik Ahluwalia gives a brief overview about the grant review process and outcomes agreed to by the Grants subcommittee meeting convened by the Executive Director (ED), Yasmin Padamsee Forbes on May 24. Commissioner Gary Chu and ED Forbes give an update on the remaining budget for FY 23 provided by the Treasury and the ED.

**VOTE**: Meena motions to approve the grants subcommittee's recommendation. Philjay seconds

YES: Commissioners Meena Bharath, Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Cinda Danh, Philjay Solar, Marilyn Park, Mary Chin, Gary Chu

ABSTAIN: Commissioners Nate Bae Kupel, Christopher Huang, Danielle Kim

With 9 votes in the affirmative and 3 abstentions, the motion passes.

- 5. New Business:
- 6. Old Business:
- 7. Future Agenda Items Suggestions

Commissioner Gary Chu shares the intention of discussing subcommittees at the next monthly meeting, and notes that the ED Forbes has developed a table which she will share with the appointed chairs of the subcommittees. He also noted that he was considering canceling the July monthly meeting due to many Commissioners being away due to summer holidays. Communications & Outreach Manager Jennifer Best reminded Commissioners of the Government Relations subcommittee's next meeting on June 9th at noon. Program & Research Director Esther Kim gives an update on hiring for the Youth Council.

# 8. Next Commission Meeting: June 20, 2023

**VOTE:** Commissioner Nate Bae Kupel motions to adjourn. Commissioner Danielle Kim seconds.

**YES:** Commissioners Nate Bae Kupel, Meena Bharath, Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Cinda Danh, Christopher Huang, Philjay Solar, Danielle Kim, Marilyn Park, Mary Chin, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously. Commissioner Gary Chu adjourns the meeting at 6:54pm.

