COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson

Gary Chu

Vice Chairperson

Richard Chu

Secretary

Saatvik Ahluwalia

Nate Bae Kupel Meenakshi Bharath Mary Chin Cinda Danh Amy Goh **Christopher Huang** Leo L. Hwang Pralhad KC Danielle Kim Mary KY Lee Bethany Li Marilyn Park Megha Prasad Jennifer Rubin Ekta Saksena Philjay Solar

Executive Director

Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 aapicommission.org

Meeting Minutes

August 15, 2023, 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm.

Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270

*Please note that this meeting will be recorded

The meeting will be held via teleconference in compliance with the Governor's Executive Order on the Open Meeting Law and COVID-19.

Attachments:

- Draft meeting minutes: June 20, 2023
- FY 24 Budget and Narrative (Draft)
- Strategic planning consultant
- Staff and Interns' reports

Commissioners present Commissioners Saatvik Ahluwalia, Gary Chu, Amy Goh, Pralhad KC, Cinda Danh, Ekta Saksena, Megha Prasad, Philjay Solar, Christopher Huang.

Staff present: Executive Director Yasmin Padamsee Forbes, Communications & Outreach Manager Jennifer Best, Program & Research Director Esther Kim, Regional Coordinator Hannah Ku

Guest: Yarlennys Villman, Sage Scott, Tuyet Tran (incoming Commissioner), Heang Rubin (Strategic Planning Consultant)

1. Call to Order

Chair Gary Chu called the meeting to order at 6:32 pm.

2. Commissioners Check-in

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes, June 20, 2023 (VOTE)

VOTE: Ekta Saksena motions to approve meeting minutes. Cinda Danh seconds YES: Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Ekta Saksena, Megha Prasad, Gary Chu, Cinda Danh

Abstain: Pralhad KC

The motion passes.

4. Public Comment

5. Approval of FY 24 Appropriations Budget (VOTE)

The FY 24 budget, which the Governance subcommittee and EC discussed, encompasses promoting Jennifer to Policy and Communications Director, creating a new position, adjusting staff salaries for inflation and step increases and allocating funds for consultant services, with the possibility of further adjustments in December to account for any underspent amounts.

ED Forbes presents the FY24 budget.

VOTE: Jennifer Rubin motions to approve the FY24 budget. Amy Goh seconds. YES: Pralhad KC, Jennifer Rubin, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Amy Goh, Cinda Danh, Ekta Saksena, Philjay Solar, Gary Chu ABSTAIN: Megha Prasad

The motion passes.

6. Strategic Planning Consultants

ED Forbes introduces Heang Rubin. Heang Rubin briefly describes her community-based research work and strategic planning process. Commissioners could ask questions, receive answers, and discuss priorities for the strategic planning process.

After Heang Rubin leaves the call, Gary Chu gives an overview of the strategic planning consultant selection process. Gary Chu calls for volunteers to join the strategic planning subcommittee: Saatvik Ahluwalia, Tuyet Tran, Amy Goh, Jennifer Rubin, Megha Prasad, and the EC.

Old Business:

7. Reports:

a. Commissioners Report

September 12, 6:00 -7:00 pm: Briefing by Prof Paul Watanabe on promoting data disaggregation and ensuring equity in the AAPI community.

- b. Commission meeting: continue same time/date for now: 3rd Tuesday of the month, 6:30–8:00 pm, based on the Commissioner survey
- c. Unity Dinner: Saturday, April 27, 2024, in Greater Boston, based on the Commissioner survey
- d. Sub-committees
- e. Staff reports

Commissioner Christopher Huang joins at 6:47 pm.

8. Commissioner Appreciation Celebration

To honor and express gratitude for the remarkable contributions, outstanding service, and unwavering dedication of our three esteemed outgoing Commissioners.

9. Future Agenda Items Suggestions

Potential options include ways to support Maui and Filipino Heritage Month in October.

10. Next Commission Meeting: September 19, 2023

VOTE: Commissioner Philjay Solar motions to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Megha Prasad seconds.

YES: Pralhad KC, Jennifer Rubin, Amy Goh, Megha Prasad, Philjay Solar, Christopher Huang, Gary Chu

The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourns at 8:18 pm.



