COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson

Gary Chu

Vice Chairperson

Richard Chu

Secretary

Saatvik Ahluwalia

Moana Bentin Meenakshi Bharath Karen Y. Chen Cinda Danh Amy Goh **Christopher Huang** Leo L. Hwang Danielle Kim Bethany Li Marilyn Park Megha Prasad Jennifer Rubin Ekta Saksena Philiay Solar **Tuyet Tran**

Executive Director

Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 aapicommission.org

Special Meeting **Meeting Minutes**

October 25, 2023, 5:30 pm to 6:00 pm

Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270

*Please note that this meeting will be recorded

The meeting will be held via teleconference in compliance with the Governor's Executive Order on the Open Meeting Law and COVID-19.

Attachments:

- CV and cover letter
- Timeline of hiring staff

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Commissioners Check-in
- 3. Program and Research Director candidate (VOTE Candidate and salary)
- 4. Next Commission Meeting: November 28

Commissioners present Commissioners Leo Hwang, Karen Chen, Marilyn Park, Richard Chu, Gary Chu, Amy Goh, Tuyet Tran, Jennifer Rubin, and Cinda Danh.

Staff present: Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

• Call to Order:

Chair Gary Chu called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

Commissioners Check-in

Executive Director Yasmin Padamsee Forbes presents an overview:

- **Program and Research Director**
 - The application opened for two weeks initially (September 14 October 3,
 - Application Deadline: October 3, 2023
 - Received 37 applications and closed applications
 - 17 applications were from MA
 - Yasmin and Jennifer reviewed all application materials.
 - Shortlisted five candidates and sent invitations to all five
 - Four candidates were interviewed. One candidate did not reply.
 - Interviews conducted by Richard and Yasmin on Oct 12-13, 2023
 - The selection was completed with Richard, Gary, and Yasmin.

Program & Research Director, Shubhecchha Dhaurali, Salary [REDACTED]:

VOTE: Commissioner Jennifer Rubin motions to vote to confirm the Program and Research Director

Commissioner Marilyn Park seconds.

YES: Commissioners Leo Hwang, Karen Chen, Marilyn Park, Richard Chu, Gary Chu, Amy Goh, Tuyet Tran, Jennifer Rubin, and Cinda Danh.

The motion passed unanimously.