**COMMISSIONERS** 

**Chairperson**Gary Chu

**Vice Chairperson**Richard Chu

Secretary

Saatvik Ahluwalia

Moana Bentin
Meenakshi Bharath
Karen Y. Chen
Cinda Danh
Amy Goh
Christopher Huang
Leo L. Hwang
Danielle Kim
Bethany Li
Marilyn Park
Megha Prasad
Jennifer Rubin
Ekta Saksena
Philjay Solar
Tuyet Tran

**Executive Director** Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 aapicommission.org

### **Meeting Minutes**

December 19, 2023, 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm Zoom: <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270</a>

\*Please note that this meeting will be recorded

The meeting will be held via teleconference in compliance with the Governor's Executive

Order on the Open Meeting Law and COVID-19.

Commissioners present: Chairperson Gary Chu, Moana Bentin, Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Meena Bharath, Megha Prasad, Philipy Solar, Amy Goh,

Staff present: Executive Director Yasmin Padamsee Forbes, Policy & Communications Director Jennifer Best, Program & Research Director Shubhecchha Dhaurali, Executive Communications Specialist Lizette Sta. Maria Others present: Heang Rubin, Katrina Brink

#### 1. Call to Order

Chairperson Gary Chu calls the meeting to order at 6:35 PM.

- 2. Commissioners Check-in
- 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes, November 28, 2023 (VOTE)

Commission Meena Bharath motions to approve. Commissioner Moana Bentin seconds.

**Yes**: Moana Bentin, Meena Bharath, Tuyet Tran, Megha Prasad, Philjay Solar, Amy Goh, Gary Chu

Abstain: Danielle Kim

The motion passes.

- 4. Public Comment
- 5. Progress Update on the Ongoing Strategic Planning Process.

Heang Rubin and Katrina Brink provide an update on the strategic planning process through a presentation on a draft of the strategic plan. Topics covered included a reduction in subcommittees and four strategic priority areas. Commissioners are encouraged to provide additional feedback to Heang Rubin and Katrina Brink before the next discussion, and potential vote in January 2024.

6. Deliberation and approval of Approval of the Terms for the AAPI Commission and UMB Survey Collaboration

Program & Research Director Shubhecchha Dhaurali provides an update on discussions with the Institute for Asian American Studies at UMass Boston in regards to the survey. The Interdepartmental Service Agreement is complete and feedback is welcome. There will be a working group convened in the new year to develop topic areas and questions.

7. Compensation for Staff Covering Program and Research Director Duties During

#### Vacancy (September 15 - November 10). (VOTE)

Commission Tuyet Tran motions to approve. Commissioner Moana Bentin seconds.

**Yes**: Moana Bentin, Meena Bharath, Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Amy Goh, Philjay Solar, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

#### 8. Western Mass Coordinator Selection (VOTE)

Commissioner Tuyet Tran motions to approve Evan Owens as Western Massachusetts Regional Coordinator. Commissioner Amy Goh seconds.

**Yes**: Moana Bentin, Meena Bharath, Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Amy Goh, Philjay Solar, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

#### 9. Swearing-in Ceremony press release (VOTE)

Commissioner Tuyet Tran motions to approve the press release announcing the Swearing-In Ceremony to be held on Feb 12, 2024 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Commissioner Moana Bentin seconds.

**Yes**: Moana Bentin, Meena Bharath, Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Amy Goh, Philjay Solar, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

# 10. Discussion on Budget Appropriations: Review and Suggestions for Program Funding Aligned with Strategic Plan Objectives.

Staffmust provide a yearly budget plan (FY 2025) to the Legislature in the new year. If any Commissioners have input, please reach out to Yasmin.

## 11. Executive Committee Elections: Voting for the Positions of Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary. (VOTE FOR EACH POSITION)

Commissioners interested in running for Vice Chair, Treasurer, or Secretary should reach out to Yasmin or Gary. All Commissioners, especially newer members, are strongly encouraged to run!

Commissioner Danielle Kim motions to elect Commissioner Gary Chu as Commissioner Chairperson for 2024. Commissioner Tuyet Tran seconds.

**Yes**: Moana Bentin, Tuyet Tran, Amy Goh, Danielle Kim, Philjay Solar, Gary Chu, Meena Bharath

The motion passes unanimously.



#### **Old Business**

- 12. Reports
  - a. Sub-committees
  - b. Unity Dinner Updates (date April 20)
    - i. Commissioners are encouraged to provide feedback on how much the tickets should cost to Jennifer Best and speaker suggestions to Lizette Sta. Maria.
  - c. Staff reports (attached)
- 13. Future Agenda Items Suggestions
- 14. Next Commission Meeting: January 16, 2024

Chair Gary Chu adjourns the meeting at 8:07 PM.

