

COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Gary Chu

Vice Chair Saatvik Ahluwalia

Moana Bentin Meenakshi Bharath Karen Y. Chen **Richard Chu** Cinda Danh Amy Goh **Christopher Huang** Leo L. Hwang Danielle Kim Bethany Li Marilyn Park Jennifer Rubin **Philiay Solar** Ekta Srinivasa **Tuyet Tran** Gary Yu

Executive Director

Yasmin Padamsee Forbes

One Ashburton Place 12th Floor Boston, MA 02108 aapicommission.org

Meeting Minutes

January 16, 2024, 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm Zoom: <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83421971270</u> *Please note that this meeting will be recorded The meeting will be held via teleconference in compliance with the Governor's Executive Order on the Open Meeting Law and COVID-19.

Commissioners Present: Gary Chu, Tuyet Tran, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Danielle Kim, Gary Yu, Ekta Srinivasa, Bethany Li, Christopher Huang

Staff Present: Yasmin Padamsee Forbes, Anne Lizette Sta. Maria, Shubhecchha Dhaurali, Diana Li, Jennifer Best

Others Present: Heang Rubin

Attachments:

- Draft meeting minutes: December 19, 2023
- Budgets, JD, and Bio of Pacific Islanders/Health Coordinator (Intern)
- Staff reports
- -----
- 1. Call to Order

Commissioner Gary Chu called the meeting to order at 6:32 PM.

2. Commissioners Check-in and Welcome to New Commissioners New Commissioners are introduced.

Commissioner Ekta Srinivasa enters the meeting at 6:39 PM. Commissioner Bethany Li enters the meeting at 6:40 PM. Commissioner Christopher Huang enters the meeting at 6:45 PM.

Approval of Meeting Minutes, December 19, 2023 (VOTE)
Commissioner Tuyet Tran motions to vote
Commissioner Danielle Kim seconds the motion.
YES: Commissioners Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena
Bharath, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Bethany Li, Gary Yu
Abstain: Commissioners Christopher Huang, Ekta Srinivasa
The motion passes.

- 4. Public Comment
- 5. Executive Committee Elections: Voting for Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary Positions. (VOTE FOR EACH POSITION)

Commissioner Meena Bharath motions to vote for Saatvik Ahluwalia to be appointed Vice Chair.

Commissioner Marilyn Park seconds the motion.



YES: Commissioners Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Bethany Li, Gary Yu, Ekta Srinivasan, Gary Chu, Christopher Huang **Abstain**: Commissioner Saatvik Ahluwalia

The motion passes and Saatvik Ahluwalia is appointed Vice-Chair.

Commissioners interested in running for Treasurer or Secretary are encouraged to reach out to Yasmin or the EC.

6. AAPIC Strategic Priorities **(VOTE)** Heung Rubin explains the strategic planning process and its results.

Commissioner Moana Bentin motions to vote to approve the strategic plan. Commissioner Saatvik Ahluwalia seconds the motion. **YES**: Gary Yu, Tuyet Tran, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Ekta Srinivasan, Bethany Li, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

7. Pacific Islanders/Health Coordinator Selection (VOTE) Commissioner Moana Bentin and Program & Research Director Shubhecchha Dhaurali give updates on the search for a Pacific Islander Coordinator.

Commissioner Moana Bentin motions to vote for Brissa Hunter to serve as Pacific Islander Coordinator.

Commissioner Tuyet Tran seconds the motion.

YES: Tuyet Tran, Gary Yu, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Ekta Srinivasan, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Bethany Li, Gary Chu

The motion passes unanimously.

8. Unity Dinner funds of up to \$30K requested from the Nonprofit budget **(VOTE)**

Staff provide updates on some of the planning of the Unity Dinner.

Commissioner Christopher Huang agrees to Arts and Culture subcommittee involvement with the Unity Dinner.

Commissioners Moana Bentin, Christopher Huang, and Gary Yu are added to the Unity Dinner subcommittee.

ED Yasmin Padamsee Forbes invites commissioners to nominate community members for awards.

Commissioner Gary Chu proposes freeing up to \$50K in our nonprofit funds so the UD subcommittee can continue planning.

Commissioner Tuyet motions to vote for up to \$50,000 of non-profit funding to be used for the 2024 Unity Dinner.

Commissioner Moana Bentin seconds.



YES: Tuyet Tran, Gary Yu, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Ekta Srinivasan, Christopher Huang, Gary Chu

The motion passes.

Old Business:

- 9. Reports
 - a. Sub-committees
 - b. Unity Dinner Updates (date April 20)
 - c. Staff reports

ED Yasmin Padamsee Forbes invites Commissioners to attend Listening Sessions on February 24th with the Bhutanese community and March 2nd with the Afghani community.

Commissioners are encouraged to attend the Swearing-In Ceremony on February 12th at the State House. Please email Jennifer Best to RSVP.

If Commissioners are interested in joining the survey working group, please email Shubhecchha Dhaurali.

- 10. Future Agenda Items Suggestions
 - a. Review of the budget compared to Strategic Plan
 - b. Fill EC positions
- 11. Next Commission Meeting: February 20, 2024

Commissioner Tuyet Tran motions to end the meeting. Commissioner Moana Bentin seconds.

Yes: Tuyet Tran, Gary Yu, Danielle Kim, Moana Bentin, Marilyn Park, Meena Bharath, Saatvik Ahluwalia, Ekta Srinivasan, Bethany Li, Gary Chu

The meeting is adjourned at 7:51 PM.

